How long is my Email Analytics data stored for?

Effective January 1, 2020, Litmus will retain your Email Analytics data for 14 months. This will enable us to build new, innovative Email Analytics reports more rapidly and allow your Email Analytics reports to load quicker. 

We encourage you to export your data before January 1, 2020.

FAQs

How long will I have access to my Email Analytics data?

You will be able to access your Email Analytics data for up to 14 months.

Is data retained 14 months after an email campaign has expired or after a tracking code was created?

It is based on the date the email was opened by the subscriber; email send dates and tracking code expiration dates do not impact the data retention period.

For example, let’s say an email was sent on November 1st, 2018 and subscribers opened the email starting on that date. Evaluating this campaign on January 1st, 2020, we would see all of the opens and email data for that campaign from November 1st, 2018 onward. If we were to evaluate the campaign on January 15th, 2020, we would only see the opens and email data from November 15th, 2018 onward.

Is there a change to the length of time a tracking code can collect data?

No. Tracking codes and expiration dates for new and existing campaigns will not be impacted by this data retention policy update.

What if I want or need to retain my data for longer than 14 months?

If you wish to compare longer-term historical email campaign data, we recommend that you export your data on a regular cadence or set up an FTP feed.

How do I export my Email Analytics data?

Data exports are available within the Litmus Email Analytics interface for each campaign. Learn how to export your data.

What if I don’t want to retain my data for a full 14 months?

You have the ability to clear or delete Email Analytics data at any time using the “Clear all data” feature. Please be certain that you no longer will need any data that you are planning to delete via our “Clear all data” feature.  We strongly suggest you export and store data locally before deleting it.

Will I be able to recover deleted data?

Any Email Analytics data manually deleted with the “Clear all data” feature will not be recoverable. Data that is older than 14 months will also not be recoverable.

What happens to my data if I cancel my Litmus account?

Regardless of account status, Email Analytics data will be retained for 14 months. If you were to cancel your account and reactivate it in the future, any Email Analytics data within 14 months of your reactivation date will still be available.

Does this change affect any other areas of the Litmus platform?

No; these updates only pertain to Email Analytics.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us